Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Hi, thanks a lot for the update - add-on so useful

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.15). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Merci

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.15). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Note:

In process of updating for TB 60.*
Having issues with AMO
Should be soon...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Funktioniert nicht mit Version 60.*
Gibt es ein Update oder eine Alternative ?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

benutze ich als locale Ablage
Nachricht erstellen - je nach relevanz mit PGP als Entwurf speichern - in den localen Ordner schubsen - save.
Lässt sich exportiern /importieren usw... feine Sache.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

LocalFolder nutze ich seit langer Zeit .
Auch mit der aktuellen TB-V52.8.0 geht alles bestens.
Fragen zu zukünftigen TB-Versionen ab V60:
- Wird LocalFolder damit funktionieren, bzw. wird es aktualisiert?
- Hat TB vielleicht schon nativ "Local Folder"?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

verwende es als mailablage
funktioniert auch in version 52.7.0
einzig das löschen muß mann hänfisch in der prefs.js vornehmen

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Après avoir créé un Local folder avec ce plugin sous TB 52, impossible d'y copier correctement des mail et la suppression du local folder créé donne le message d'erreur suivant:
"Erreur lors de l'effacement du compte sélectionné:
[Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80004005 (NS_ERROR_FAILURE) [nsIStringBundle.formatStringFromName]" nsresult: "0x80004005 (NS_ERROR_FAILURE)" location: "JS frame :: XStringBundle :: getFormattedString :: line 37" data: no]"
Une mise à jour du plugin est-elle prévue?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

All popup dialogs repeat their message following straight on from the end of the 1st.
I also had some trouble with the display of mailing list members in the address book which "seems" to have gone away once this extension was disabled. Not sure why that would be.
I am on Windows 7 pro with Thunderbird 45.1.1

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I used the add-on to add another “Local Folder” account and everything worked fine. Thanks! But I then noticed something strange. In all dialog boxes that Thunderbird pops up, such as “please enter your master password”, “are you sure you are ready to send”, also dialogs opened by add-ons, the actual message appeared twice – the second copy followed just after the first, with no separating characters. Other parts of the dialog such as window title, button texts, checkbox labels were not affected. I selectively disabled add-ons to find that LocalFolder is responsible. It's not a huge problem because having created my extra Local Folder, it fortunately does not go away even if the add-on is disabled (so that’s what I have now done and I hope the account won’t suddenly disappear some time later). But maybe the author would like to see if that can be fixed. I observed this with a current TB 38.6.0 under Linux (GNOME desktop).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I created the by the add-on requested folder with rights 700 (what else?), then chose that folder in the browsing mask. I gave the "new local folder" a name, chose subfolders and had the same problem as CarlB.
Following his instructions, I closed thunderbird, then removed the newly created folder (rm -r).
After restarting thunderbird the folder was recreated, but with rights 711. Btw, files in there are created with rights 600.
Seems to work fine now.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Doesn't work with Thunderbird 24.6.0.

I created a second local folder following the foreign-language screen shots and improvising where required. I could not move emails to the new folder, even after restarting as suggested by others. The folder appears, but is inert.

UPDATE - After closing Thunderbird, deleting the folder and contents, and restarting Thunderbird, it works now - for the moment? It recreated the folder (empty). I'm upgrading my rating from 1 to 2 since it would be a great feature, if only I could trust it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I tested with 24.4.0 and got similar results like Olaf. It tries to copy but the file does not move. The tool would be extremeley helpful, so I hope that it will be adapted soon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I added the LocalFolder add-on to a new installation of Thunderbird 24.4.0 running on Windows 7.

I can create new local folders but cannot copy emails into them.

If I create a folder and then restart Thunderbird (as suggested in the post from 2012 for Unbuntu and TB portable) I seems that I can copy emails, but I am not yet sure if this behaviour is consistent. Does anybody else experience these problems?

I also noticed that new local folders appear at two locations (with slightly different contents): one next to the original local folder at the location specified in the profile and one at the storage location which the add-on asked for during the creation process. Is this normal?

There is another thing: I cannot delete emails from the local folder.

I am also not sure how to connect an already existing folder and its contents to a new Thunderbold installation. Can anybody share a pointer on how to do that?

I believe that I am missing something important here as the other reviewers are full of praise ... what am I doing wrong?

If one of the successful users could share a step-by-step procedure this would be highly appreciated ...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A truly excellent add-on. It works perfectly in the latest version of TB (currently v24.x)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Due to the fact that I change my computer from time to time there are always some local folders left on older hard drives. With LocalFodler I start again with Thunderbird adding the older archives (Sent etc.) as Local Folders. No need for "importing" (however) stuff. Amazing..! Thanks.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

this is really essential if you want to keep your profile folders to a "reasonable" size - e.g. if you want to take your data on a stick etc. It allows you to move old ( I'm talking > 4 years old!) data to another folder so you can then easily sync your data with your usb
stick and carry with you. THANKS SO MUCH
(edit:: will also testi with earlybird and daily updates and see if it work on them as well...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I was using the very good feature Tool over a year ago with TB Desktop Win7x32 without problem. Then I switched to TB Portable. Installation of LocalFolder is fine, but then i can not move E-Mails from Inbox to created Local Folder. Has this to do with TB Portable permissions problems?

Edit October 20, 2012
Wow. Thank you philoux. That is the solution. I have done it only once and after it was possible to create and use new folders without restart. If possible please add this info (restart TB right after creating new local folders) to the documentation of the plugin.
And I hope this feature will be integrated into TB; IMHO a major feature especially for business users of TB!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.9). 

On Ubuntu and probably TB portable, you need to restart TB after creating a local folder. I don't know why but, if you create a folder in your local folder without restarting, you won't be able to move E-Mails to it.
The solution :
- restart TB right after creating new local folders
- if you created a folder before restarting, delete this folder, empty Trash and create a folder again.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome, just what I was after, thanks!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.7).