Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for developing this! I accidentally copied thousands of emails to an archive twice and was not looking forward to deleting them one-by-one. You saved me so much time.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately the Add-On only works partially for me!

- missing selection: delete all mails, leave one left (per mail)

Example:
-a folder with four mails of 3x each exists, but only each mail is found twice
- now delete the found mails
- then a new search
- now comes an error: Javascript application - no duplicates found
- but there are still two of each mail (4 pcs.) available

There are also other combinations of not found mails!

macOS 10.15, Thunderbird 68.2.0, Remove Duplicates 0.4.1

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great addon.
Thanks to the author.

Working version for Thunderbird 68.1 build from sources:
https://workupload.com/file/RVLs2e2d

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Super outil ! Manque la mise à jour vers Thunderbird 68.1.1

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great add-on! Please update to TB 68!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

You got it! TB 68 is now supported.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great add-on! Please update to TB 68!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

please update to new thunderbird 68

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Really very usefull. But not usable with the actual version 68!Waiting 4 an update.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Done! Now updated for v68.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Really very usefull.
Could you please update for TB 68 ? Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately not compatible with tb 68 at the moment

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b).  This user has 3 previous reviews of this add-on.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

In some ways better than old version -in others not...one problem there might be a solution to? Something I am doing wrong - or a bug? (I'll post in support) I have multiple copies of the same email)- it is recognising/getting rid of all but a pair - the only difference I can find is they are labelled as different 'accounts' -an option I can't change. My thunderbird email is a mess - years ago I moved online accounts,forwarding but not deleting messages, managed to forward some messages twice, moved both old and new accounts to thunderbird as pop -then wanted sync so added imaps ... I have at least 20k emails in thunderbird. Every so often I do some sorting and give up...which has made it even worse!
This versions seems to be better at identifying duplicates than the (ancient) version of the old one I used - that marked some false duplicates -just this issue with the accounts.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Works great but there's one bug, I have two emails receiving the same email list, now I merged these emails and wanted to remove duplicates. However, using from/to as the selectors won't work, since one 'To' has "<[email protected]>" and the other "[email protected]". Don't know if this is common, but it took me a while to figure out since thunderbird displays both the same way, only when disabling 'to' and enabling 'cc list' to compare instead it grouped them together.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

A complete waste of time - unfortunately

A really useful toll for confused people like me who love to backup everything whenever I can. Specially important old e-mails with very special messages. Unfortunately the tool did not work at all for me (TB version 60.8.0 32 bits Windows 10). I have lots of archived folders where this tool did not detect any duplicated messages where there is 2, 3 or even 4 copies of them.

Whoever develops a fully functional tool able to remove unwanted e-mail copies would be greatly appreciated. I've tried several times with or without selecting the entire folder or a small group of repeated e-mails without success.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Poorly documented, can't search special folders (like archive) and overall not working.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

not impressed, poorly documented, no information on 'set original message folder(s) for next duplicate search' - throws up all sorts of unintelligible error messages – original add-on just worked out of the box - with this re-write one has to fool around with myriad settings otherwise it wont do anything - well that’s ok if what one has to do is documented – whatever happened to less is more ? current add-on might be a re-write but it would seem the author is the only person who knows how it works and because of the poor documentation another piece of hard work isn't going to be taken up because simpletons such as myself are unable to second guess the author’s intentions – nul points

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great tool, perhaps to help others migrating a large mail account to Thunderbird I came across a hidden limit of 10000 mail items in the defaults/preferences/removedupes.js file, that seemed to be stopping the search process and isn't visible as an adjustable parameter in the settings available from the add ons section of the Thunderbird menu.
Method I used was to save the xpi file to a drive location, change the extention to .zip, open the removedupes.js with Notepad++ and change the default value of the line:
pref("extensions.removedupes.processed_messages_limit", 10000);.I also changed the line pref('extensions.removedupes.yield_quantum',20000); (from 2500 to 20000).
Simply save the file once edits have been made and then send all the files to a .zip and then rename the extension back to .xpi. Use the "install add on from file" in the Add ons Manager (settings icon near top centre - looks like a gear/cog) and job done.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very useful Tool.

Currently I am transfering from Windows 7 to Linux Mint and in the meantime I use Thunderbird with both OS, hence I have many mail duplicates.

Had also the Problem that no duplicates were found. After I cleared the "SIze"-Check it worked well.

I also appreciate these many settings for the tool , e.g. that you can search all subfolders, which is a default setting.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works well for me.

@Konrad65 @ChrisInVT I needed to open the preferences for the add-on via the menus:

Tools > Add-on Preferences > Remove Duplicate Messages

I then unticked "Size", and then it found duplicate messages.

I believe this is because the size of the duplicates is different to the originals because new headers were inserted into them.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.18b). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Doesn't actually do anything. My Gmail account just downloaded my whole inbox from the past three years. I have thousands of duplicate messages now. This extension says "No duplicate messages found" yeah ok.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.17b1). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have downloaded this add on; however, when I "run" it, I am asked which program to use. Installation help, please.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.17b1).