Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I've been using Enigmail for years and it keeps getting better and has become much more stable and reliable compared to when I first started using it way back when it first came out. PGP/MIME, per-recipient rules, key exchanges, and everything else works exactly as I needed it to. I am also quite happy that all three of my IMAP accounts managed within Thunderbird are now working well back and forth with my ProtonMail accounts.

I am not sure what trouble some people have getting this to work. Make sure you understand PGP and how its meant to be used, RTFM, and definitely make sure that have your GPGTools (keychain, etc.) working before you try getting this add-on to work for you. A properly configured GPG Tools install and a properly configured Enigmail+Thunderbird accounts results in a in a pretty consistently flawless experience.

Keep up the good work, Patrick!

P.S. An Enigmail email client for iOS (and for my Android friends too) would be pretty rad. Aside from dragging and dropping keys into iTunes file sharing, Canary Mail does not do PGP right.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Лучшее дополнение для PGP шифрования писем. Работает отлично.
Thunderbird 60.6.1

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.10). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I'm back with Thunderbird and Enigmail after a few years. Turns out it was a mistake. There is no way of importing Keys from file or URL. After three days of trying everything that has been suggested, I give up. Support could be better too. Ciao Enigmail
If you have a suggestion what I could use instead that would be helpful. Something that works obviously.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.10). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

It says this file is corrupt and won't install

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.10). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Seit einigen Tagen, vermutlich seit 2.0.10, bremst enigmail das Verfassen von Mails, Antworten auf Mails oder weiterleiten von Mails. Das äußert sich darin, dass die "An"-Zeile und die Nachricht erst nach etlichen Sekunden aktiviert sind. Das Addon deaktivieren behebt das problem. Deshalb enigmail 2.0.10 unbrauchbar!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.10). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I'd like to set up encryption for Thunderbird on a Mac running El Capitan 10.11.6. The default version does not install. Unfortunately, I have no idea how to get a version of this that works on my machine. Can't get access to the support either. It looks like I am at a dead end, so I am annoyed and sounding off.

It turned out that the problem was with GnuPG not liking my operating system. Once I got that resolved (not at all easy) Setting up Enigmail went fine.

That said, the logic of using Enigmail seems obtuse and is not well explained in the documentation. So I am now somewhat pleased, but not best pleased.

Note: I tried posting to support. I was not able to get past the captcha.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.10). 

Support options are described on the following page: https://enigmail.net/index.php/en/support/obtaining-support

I suggest you post your query to the support forum, and it's very likely that we'll help you.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

i don't know why this addon won't work with anything i did following instruction, etc.
Enigmail seems not to be able to locate ore recognise the gnuPG i've installed. even with the standard option to install the gnuPG.
no matter which app file i chose whether in gpg4win or gnupg folder, it just won't work.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great addon, but please add TB 64 bit support asap !!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.9). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Works well. Key management could be improved. Should allow fetching keys for contacts from cardbook extension.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.9). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Widerrufszertifikat kann icht erstellt werden, da eine Datei fehlt, Neu-Installation ist nicht möglich ... Schlecht und unbrauchbar, weil keine Lösung angeboten wird.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.9). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I tried to download pgp for my Firefox 52.9.0 and Thunderbird 52.9.1 and none of them worked, i.e. they wouldn't install. I have a PGP attachment and have no idea of how, or if, to view it. I have exactly... again, NO IDEA if there's any way to decript an attachment. :-(

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.9).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Thunderbird 60.4.0 on Ubuntu 16.04 crashes when the Enigmail (2.0.9) dropdown menu in the "new mail" window is opened.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Enigmail works great. I have no issues with it, and I use it on both Windows and Linux. Excellent package.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.9).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I'm sad to write a negative review on what I think is an absolutely essential add-on for Thunderbird with no alternative at the moment. Unfortunately it just doesn't work. It's super buggy, there was a major update recently which changed pretty much everything such that the website/documentation is entirely out of date.

As a quick example, it's not possible to edit per-recipient rules; the menu option shown on the website simply doesn't exist anymore. And... those rules don't work anyway. Messages don't decrypt, though they sometimes seem to encrypt, but since it's hot-and-cold I can't really trust it.

I'm not sure if it's the PEP integration that changed everything so drastically but Enigmail simply doesn't work anymore. So sad, I loved this plugin for years. Back to manual gpg on the command line I guess...

EDIT:

Bumping my rating up because of the quick response from the dev and the fact that the plugin is at least basically functional now following his instructions!

I still feel like it's not great that the plugin's PEP integration not only (seems to) break PGP integration, but also reworks the menus so that they're completely different from what's in the documentation... and then the way to get the other menus back is to force a specific mode of encryption (rather than "show advanced menus" or something). Anyway, happy to be leaving a more positive review now.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.9). 

It looks like you entered the "Enigmail/pEp" mode (which is a simplified mode for beginners). If you want to use the "classical" mode of Enigmail, the go to menu "Enigmail/pEp" > Preferences > Compatibility and select "Force using S/MIME and Enigmail"

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Insists on encrypting drafts and template emails regardless of preferences and/or option settings! Why?!?! Enigmail will even encrypt drafts and template emails that are saved when OpenPGP has been disabled for a particular email identity/account! The only way to stop this function is to disable the Enigmail add-on entirely! I have removed and re-installed the add-on to no avail. I have removed and re-installed GnuPG to no avail! Enigmail was working fine and without this default encrypt drafts and templates just fine with TB version before the most recent v60 release.

Since upgrade to TB v60... Enigmail initially just choked altogether. Then after installing GnuPG, it now always throws an error message when attempting to send or decyrpt an email! The error message popup says libassuan-0.dll cannot be found even though I have the latest version of GnuPG 3.1.5 for Windows installed (gpg4win-3.1.5.exe).

Sadly until this problem is fixed - Enigmail is disabled.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.8). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Best and useful addon out there but pls update it so it can be used with TB 64 and newer!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.8). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is a very useful addon!
I miss it and hope that it is updated to be compatible with the newer TB soon. Thx all.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.8). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Doesn't work anymore with thunderbird 6.* or it was changed to an unusable state. Don't know. Also, no use guide.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.8). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Does not work anymore with Thunderbird 63.0beta

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.8). 

That's correct. Release versions of Enigmail typically don't work with beta versions of Thunderbird. You have to use the nightly builds of Enigmail provided on https://enigmail.net/index.php/en/download/nightly-build