Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Hello,

Patched ok for install.rdf :
<em:maxVersion>60.1</em:maxVersion>

Thank you for the module !

-- Cybil

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Doesn't work with TB 59.

Edit: now it works. Don't know why...

Please verify that you are using version 3.0 or later. Thunderbird changed many of their APIs in versions 59 and 60, which broke compatibility with gContactSync 2.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

One of the most useful add-ons. Works fine, the only thing i miss in the current release V3, is the option to change the language of the add-on to German instead of English. (I did not found one)
Edit: Found the Option to disable the change of Fields in TB Adressbook ;)

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

gCantactSync ist für mich das wichtigste Add-on, welches ich verwende (the most important add-on I´m using). Es funktioniert zuverlässig und hilft mir, auf anderen PCs sowie Smartphones stets denselben aktuellen Adressen-Satz (über 800) zu haben.
gCantactSync sollte wirklich fest in TB integriert sein.
Danke an Josh Geenen!

This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This should be integrated in Thunderbird. I have never lost any contact. It does its job as expected. Never stopped working (perhaps shortly, I didn't notice) following all TB software upgrade.

Devrait être intégré dans Thunderbird. Je n'ai jamais perdu de contact. Il fonctionne tel qu'attendu. N'a jamais cessé de fonctionner (peut-être à très court terme à mon insu) au fil des mise-à-niveau de la messagerie TB.

This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Effortless.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

enables 2-way sync of contacts between Google Contacts and Thunderbird. Must have for Android users who want fully-featured offline email app on PC while using Gmail address book. Slow but works great. Replaced not-so-good 3rd party integration tools via Outlook.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Slow but it does work. I read another review that suggested that this plugin should be updated because it had stopped working. However, I closed and reopened the app and it took about a full 10 to 15 minutes before I got the synced confirmation message with zero failures. Once the sync process was finished, my complete list of over 4,000 contacts synced. It only cost me a little time to install and to sync. It get's 5 stars from me. If you are using Thunderbird for your email client and have a Gmail account with contacts this is an amazing tool. B Blessed.

Dié resensie is oor 'n vorige weergawe van dié byvoeging (2.0.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Good Add-on.
By the way the record limit is 10,000 records.
In my case I have more then 13,000.
I can see only 10,000 adresses in my thundbird.

Dié resensie is oor 'n vorige weergawe van dié byvoeging (2.0.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I hope, the author is alive and he will update this really valuable add-on.

Edit
Glad to hear this, Josh! It seems to be working fine now! Thanks a lot!

Dié resensie is oor 'n vorige weergawe van dié byvoeging (2.0.13). 

I'm still alive :). Version 3.0.0 should work in TB 57 - 60.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Excellent App for many years. But now in the last week (or about) the App no longer syncs with Google contacts. :-(

Dié resensie is oor 'n vorige weergawe van dié byvoeging (2.0.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It works! and is a long awaited add-on. Please go ahead with development.

Dié resensie is oor 'n vorige weergawe van dié byvoeging (2.0.13). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately the last TB Version 52.8.0 keeps crashing when I activate this add on. Too bad since it is very useful!

Dié resensie is oor 'n vorige weergawe van dié byvoeging (2.0.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

great addon

but I just discovered every connection is made in http://google
this sensitive data should be https:// exclusive
please how can we change that?

EDIT: yes, I saw it in fiddler or wireshark. thank you for looking into it, will retry soon.

Dié resensie is oor 'n vorige weergawe van dié byvoeging (2.0.13). 

All communication between the add-on and Google is using https. I even have code that replaces "http:" with "https:" for back when contact IDs sometimes had "http:". Where did you see insecure connections? Did you verify that they are indeed insecure with Wireshark or a similar tool?

If you have any evidence of this happening please provide me with it or at least the URL(s).

PS: Version 3.0 switched to https even for the links to my website for the FAQs and forum.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

When set “extensions.strictCompatibility” (configuration editor) to “false” then it still doesn't work properly. Settings dialog is transparent so it is hard to confirm changes:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1447237

Dié resensie is oor 'n vorige weergawe van dié byvoeging (2.0.13).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

This has been fixed in later versions. I don't recommend overriding the compatibility since I set the last supported version to the newest version I tested the add-on with. Override it at your own risk :).

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works with TB 6.0 beta
Set “extensions.strictCompatibility” (configuration editor) to “false”

Dié resensie is oor 'n vorige weergawe van dié byvoeging (2.0.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great add-on, but currently incompatible with TB 60. Please update!

Dié resensie is oor 'n vorige weergawe van dié byvoeging (2.0.13). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Thank you for this addons .
some details could help us to explore more acuratly our contacts .

***************
count number of contact that exist .

show contacts that they are deleting in synchronization time. and let us to select them , if we think its go wrong .

show contact added recently .

merge contact

and report of some other analysis

Dié resensie is oor 'n vorige weergawe van dié byvoeging (2.0.13). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Somehow, this add on completely screwed up my Thunderbird Contacts. I had address books / lists in Thunderbird that were not in gmail....so it DELETED THEM when it synced gmail with Thunderbird!!!!

Dié resensie is oor 'n vorige weergawe van dié byvoeging (2.0.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works since years perfect - but today I had a significant issue! Google after some records claimed that the token expired and needed to be renewed! Issue was not found for hours - then I detected: some records in birthday had value "0"! Eliminating this solved the issue!

Dié resensie is oor 'n vorige weergawe van dié byvoeging (2.0.13).