Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works great with my owncloud-installation.
Much much better than SoGo

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (8.1). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great plugin which works great i.e. with Zimbra

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (7.8). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Ein bissl Optik, und TB hat endlich ein Gutes Adressbuch. Wir nutzen und hosten Cloud selber schon Jahrelang, und sind begeistert.
DANKE

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (7.6). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Thunderbird's built in "Address Book" is very limited and doesn't offer any CRM like (minor) features so it's kept me away from Thunderbird. This add-on offers unlimited flexibility for contact management.
Possible Improvements:
-- Built-in, predefined, extensible IM fields (jabber, skype, etc.)
-- Full VCard 4.0 support can make this add-on a life-saver for millions
-- Company / Contact diversity

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (7.6). 

Hi

could you send me by email your detailed wishlist :O)

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Bewertung eigentlich noch nicht möglich, aber da es keine andere Möglichkeit der Kontaktaufnahme gibt hier eine Frage: How to import the already existants Thunderbird adresses into Cardbook?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (7.4). 

you may contact me here : cardbook.thunderbird(at)gmail.com

for your problem, there is no easy way... when Cardbook will be more mature, I'll write something for this but not for the next 6 months...

Edit : somebody told me this path :
There's a way:
1/ Export your existing contacts as vcf (e.g. with
MoreFunctionsForAddressBook
https://freeshell.de/~kaosmos/morecols-en.html)
2/ open the file generated and then change all these strings "VERSION=2.1" with this string "VERSION=3.0", save it
3/ import it with cardbook

++

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great addon, I really like it!
Since last update I struggle with displaying my contacts. Synchronization seems to be OK (I see the correct number of contacts in status bar), but I receive the error "wdw_cardbook.syncAccountFromAccountsOrCats error : TypeError: a[columnName].toUpperCase is not a function" for several categories. Contacts are not displayed.

Could you help with that?
I don't know how to contact developer directly. Sorry for posting here.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (7.3). 

Hi

sorry the version 7.3 has a big huge bug (the 7.4 is in instance of approbation)...

your error is corrected in version 7.5

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Hello,
I just found your addon, and I really like it. It synchronises my more then 1000 contacts more stable than sogo, and it is easier to setup.
I still have one question, is there a simple way to add a new conact from an incoming mail? Taking over the email and the displayed name?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (7.2). 

Hi

not yet, but I hope to add this during this year... The integration within Thunderbird is for the moment not sufficient...

Edit : this is now possible in version 7.5

++
Philippe

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

2016.01.29 16:42:37:266 : Contacts Jerome : Contact XXXXX déjà récupéré depuis le cache
[...]
2016.01.29 16:42:38:012 : Contacts Jerome : Contact XXXXX récupéré du serveur
2016.01.29 16:42:38:889 : Contacts Jerome : Synchronisation finie, résultats :
2016.01.29 16:42:38:889 : Contacts Jerome : Contacts à jour : 542
2016.01.29 16:42:38:889 : Contacts Jerome : Contacts nouveaux sur le serveur : 0
2016.01.29 16:42:38:889 : Contacts Jerome : Contacts mis à jour sur le serveur : 1
2016.01.29 16:42:38:889 : Contacts Jerome : Contacts supprimés sur le serveur : 0
2016.01.29 16:42:38:889 : Contacts Jerome : Contacts supprimés sur le disque : 0
2016.01.29 16:42:38:889 : Contacts Jerome : Contacts supprimés sur le disque et mis à jour sur le serveur : 0
2016.01.29 16:42:38:890 : Contacts Jerome : Contacts nouveaux sur le disque : 0
2016.01.29 16:42:38:890 : Contacts Jerome : Contacts mis à jour sur le disque : 0
2016.01.29 16:42:38:890 : Contacts Jerome : Contacts mis à jour sur le disque et sur le serveur : 0
2016.01.29 16:42:38:890 : Contacts Jerome : Contacts mis à jour sur le disque and supprimés sur le serveur : 0
2016.01.29 16:42:38:890 : Contacts Jerome : Modifications récupérées du serveur : 1
2016.01.29 16:42:38:890 : Contacts Jerome : Modifications non récupérées du serveur : 0
2016.01.29 16:42:38:890 : Contacts Jerome : Modifications poussées sur le serveur : 0
2016.01.29 16:42:38:890 : Contacts Jerome : Modifications non poussées sur le serveur : 0
2016.01.29 16:42:38:891 : Toutes les synchronisations sont finies
2016.01.29 16:45:16:981 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
2016.01.29 16:45:17:728 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
2016.01.29 16:45:18:728 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
2016.01.29 16:45:19:727 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
2016.01.29 16:45:20:728 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
2016.01.29 16:45:21:730 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
[...]
2016.01.29 16:46:02:718 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
2016.01.29 16:46:03:719 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
2016.01.29 16:46:04:729 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
2016.01.29 16:46:05:722 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
2016.01.29 16:46:06:730 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
2016.01.29 16:46:07:728 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
2016.01.29 16:46:08:729 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
2016.01.29 16:46:09:729 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
2016.01.29 16:46:10:730 : wdw_cardbook.refreshAccountsInDirTree error : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined

Horodatage : 29/01/2016 16:42:05
Erreur : TypeError: a[columnName] is undefined
Fichier Source : chrome://cardbook/content/wdw_cardbook.js
Ligne : 1258

---->
if (cardbookRepository.cardbookDisplayCards[mySelectedAccount]) {
cardbookRepository.cardbookDisplayCards[mySelectedAccount].sort(function(a,b) {
if (a[columnName].toUpperCase() > b[columnName].toUpperCase()) return 1 * order;
if (a[columnName].toUpperCase() < b[columnName].toUpperCase()) return -1 * order;
return 0;
});
} else {
return;
}


Est il possible de vous joindre ailleurs qu'ici ? (email, github, twitter, whatever...)


J'adore votre plugin mais ce bug m'indique qu'il reste du boulot =)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (7.2). 

your error is corrected in version 7.5

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

but unfortunately not with icloud :(
verification fails with
2016.01.29 16:04:27:673 : Validation module : Validating without discovery request on https://p01-contacts.icloud.com/xxx/carddavhome/card/ ...
2016.01.29 16:04:27:915 : Validation module : Synchronization failed (step : validateWithoutDiscovery, url : https://p01-contacts.icloud.com/xxx/carddavhome/card/, status : 401)
any ideas?
if there's something i can do to get a more detailed log, let me know...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (7.2). 

by email please ! :O)

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

With DAVDroid accepting VCARD 4.0 from the smartphones my Owncloud Server filled up also with VCARD 4.0 contact datas.

With Cardbook 7.0 now I can sync again all mobile contacts to thunderbird - and vice versa to the smartphones back again.

The new properties of VCARD 4.0 for grouping contacts would be very usefull.
Hope to see it in next releases ;-)

Please go ahead!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (7.0).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I have tried this extension with Gmail, first time it works but only with contacts that are in the group that my android phone displays as "My Contacts" (I guess this is the default group in Gmail when you create/modify a contact). They are in Cardbook in a category named "Uncategorised".

I delete this category by mistake, the add-on doesn't work anymore (I see the account but no more synchronization). It seems reinstalling does not solve the issue (even by deleting manually the Cardbook items in the profile directory), I guess some residual items are kept somewhere.

So this add-on seems promising but the last update may have some bugs, I will definitively retry again when all contacts in all gmail groups could be loaded (if it's possible).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (6.9). 

Google is a nightmare because it has not a proper implementation of CARDDAV : categories are not synchronized, ids are changed, etc...I will concentrate my efforts for the moment for systems which respect open standards and in future maybe I'll try to make something for them... Try Owncloud, sorry ;O)

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

For years, the only way to synchronize my Thunderbird contacts with my Owncloud server was to use the SOGO Connector. For years, I never knew whether my contacts would actually be there when I needed them or whether an important change I made would propagate properly to where I needed it. For years, I filed and watched the bug reports for some relief.

This http://www.sogo.nu/bugs/view.php?id=2575 finally prompted me to search for some alternative. And then I found Cardbook.

Folks, this add on is the solution to the SOGO saga/monopoly. It works, and it works well. Every single addition, deletion, and change I've made on any of my devices has synced to the others perfectly. And I've been hammering the thing to death looking for flaws. So far, it's been flawless.

Gone are my worries that I'll be out on the road, needing that crucial piece of information that I added the other day to the contact I'm visiting, only to find that it never got there thanks to SOGO.

Thank you, Phillippe Vigneau! You have no idea how many people you've just freed from a miserable Thunderbird/CardDav experience. Oh, wait, maybe you do. Just look at the number of downloads!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (6.5). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Hello,

This plugin does the job, and seems to do it exactly as expected. Don't forget to add the button in the interface or you'll wonder where to configure your carddav account.
I'm using it to sync my owncloud's carddav contacts. Everything fine: contact pictures, any field seems to be sync'ed. I'll check this within the next weeks/months of usage.

As a comparison, I've been using SOGO connector for months now and I notice frequent freezes (2 or 3 seconds where you can't do anything each 2 minutes... awful) on my computer (tested on 2 different computers). Disabling SOGO corrects the problem, enabling it makes it reappear. I'm using the latest version, nothing helps. If you experience this kind of problem, give a try to CardBook. And if you don't have any problem, give a try anyway :)

Regards,

(After some weeks, if everything if OK, I'll really consider to donate some coffees :))

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (6.3). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

While not yet perfect, I give this 5 stars as it is awesome. It installs fast, integrates into TB quite nicely and supports custom fields from contact lists in ownCloud.
Its definitely worth using and IMO the best cardDAV client out there for TB.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.9). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

There is only a small problem left synching with my posteo adressbook (www.posteo.de).
Not all entries are synchronysed, i get a message box for each missing entry "vString not found" but unfortunallety there is no information wich string is unknown, neither in the message box not in the log file.
I think i could import the missing entries if i know the missing vString and add them.
Phillipe, dis moi que je peux faire s.t.p.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.8). 

Contact me by email : cardbook.thunderbird (at ) gmail.com
++
Philippe

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This software is great . I am synchronizing my contacts with baikal on a synology NAS and my android telephones. I was previously trying to work with Sogo connector which never really worked.
Philippe helped me to import my contacts which were in Vcf 2.1 version and i was able to keep the categories.
Great

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.1). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Although there are still some small UI issues, this addon is of great help to manage my contacts and synchronize them to a CardDAV server. Together with the CardDAV Sync app on Android, now I can finally synchronize my contacts between my Linux desktops and my Android mobile devices without using Google services. First time in years since the Funambol addon stopped working at some Thunderbird update. Very friendly and helpful developer. Thanks.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Génial. Bien meilleur que le carnet d'adresse natif Thunderbird, toujours limité à 2 adresses e-mail.
Ici le standard VCF semble être parfaitement respecté.
La synchronisation Owncloud marche parfaitement. Les adresses e-mails sont proposées en auto-complétion lors de l'écriture des e-mails.
Depuis la version 2.7, une synchronisation incomplète peut être reprise en forçant une nouvelle synchro.
J'ajoute que le développeur est très réactif en cas de problème. C'est un plaisir.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.7).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.