Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I hope it's not necessary for everyone to be able to use their browser to track the phases of the moon, when twilight begins and ends, and when the sun and moon will rise and set. But as an innercity dweller, whose view of the sky is often obscured by city lights, large buildings, and pollution, and who is largely housebound due to disability, I feel this is just the most beautiful add-on ever.

It really is one of my all-time favorites, and I was so sad when I found out that it wouldn't work anymore if I updated to Firefox 3, that I almost didn't update at all. I repeatedly searched for similar programs all over the internet, but there is just nothing like it anywhere.

I cannot describe to you how thrilled I was to find it listed in my add-on updates today. I had given up hope that anyone would ever update it, and really didn't believe it was true until I saw the icon, hovered over it, and saw it working perfectly. It actually made me cry.

Thank you, Rob Norris! You just added a little piece of joy back into my life that I had missed so much. Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.3.20110715.1-signed). 

Thank you very much for the kind and beautiful words.

I can not match your eloquence, so I'll just stick to keeping Sun Cult alive.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I love this add-on but there is one minor problem. Following ash2020 update instructions [How to Update Sun Cult yourself (Windows 7, FireFox 4) below, I was able to get it running with FF 5.0 running XP-SP3. However this will not work unless the add-on toolbar is enabled. No matter what I select in Sun Cult's display placement options, the icon displays but the info will not pop-open when I mouse over it if the Addon-toolbar is disabled.

Is there a work-around for this?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.3.20110622.1-signed). 

Unfortunately this is a known issue, that Sun Cult (all versions AFAIK) only works when the statusbar/addon bar is visible.I don't know how to solve it ATM (although I partially understand the cause) and I'm slowing investigating solutions as my time permits.This bug is listed in the main Sun Cult issue tracker see: http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&aid=1473668&group_id=157626&atid=804582
NB Forgot to add there's no work-around (other than enabling and showing the add-on bar)

UPDATE 2011-11-18: Now fixed and available in a new release - 1.3.20111118

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Not sure why it was just now bumped to FF4, it works fine in FF5 if you bump max version.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.3.20110611.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Although the conversion instructions are a bit convoluted, it was well worth the effort. Even for the newbie, this should be easy! I love my SunCult!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

For Windows XP and Firefox 4, go to https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/sun-cult/reviews/230463/ but change "3.5" to "4.9" in step 10 and don't forget to switch on the Add-ons bar (see step 16, below)

1) Go to Computer > Tools > Folder Options. Select the 'View' tab, and uncheck 'Hide extensions for known file types'.
2) Go online and find the Sun Cult page in Add-ons for Firefox.
3) Right-click on the 'Add to Firefox' button and select 'Save Link As...'. This will enable you to save the Sun Cult XPI file to your desktop.
4) Rename the file you have just saved by right clicking on it, selecting 'Rename' and replacing ".xpi" with ".zip". You will encounter a 'Rename' warning; just click 'Yes'. You have now changed change the xpi file into a ZIP folder.
5) Open the newly created ZIP folder by right-clicking it and selecting 'Open with' > Windows Explorer.
6)Right-click on the "install.rdf" file and remove it from the ZIP folder using Cut and Paste (don't just drag and drop). Anywhere outside the folder will do.
7) Right-click on "install.rdf" and select 'Open'. A dialogue box will pop up. Check the 'Select a program from a list..' option then hit 'OK'.
8) Select 'Notepad', uncheck the 'Always use the selected program to open this kind of file' option, and then hit 'OK'.
9) You are now in Notepad. Make sure that your text cursor is at the very beginning of the document's text and then go to Edit > Find
10) Enter "em:maxVersion=" (without quotation marks) into the 'Find what' box and then hit the 'Find next' button.
11) You will be taken to a place in the document that says: em:maxVersion="3.5"
Replace 3.5 with 4.9 , then close and save the file.
12) Return the newly altered "install.rdf" file into the ZIP folder from which you took it (dragging and dropping is OK this time)
13) Rename the ZIP folder back to an XPI file
14) Open up a new Firefox window and drag and drop the XPI file into it.
15) Follow the normal add-ons procedure from there.
16) In Firefox 4 you need to switch on the Add-on bar in order to be able to see Sun Cult: from the new orange Firefox button (at the top left of every Firefox 4 window), go to Options and check the 'Add-on bar' option.
17) Now tidy up. Go to Computer > Tools > Folder Options. Select the 'View' tab, and check 'Hide extensions for known file types'.
18) You can safely delete any files that you have saved to the desktop
19) Have a well deserved cup of tea.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Nice program.
Vista install on FFox3.6.15 version by following ash2020 instructions ( https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/sun-cult/reviews/230463/ ).
Thanks ash2020 !

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Please make available always for most recent versions of Thunderbird (I have 3.1.7) I love it and use it every chance I get! It gives meaning to my brief Life and helps Love thrive in our Universe.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love this program and used it before until firefox was upgraded...Please make this available and working for Firefox 3.6 and if possible firefox 4 to anticipate any quick changes/updates. Really hope this can come back & it's on my favorite list so that I can check up now and then to see/in hopes of/that it may be updated and working again with firefox updates. Thanks for creating it, hope to see it again and maybe even more info. on the moon and lunar related issues...blessed be. ;-)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Hi,

pleeeease update your addon for v.3.1.4 we miss its functions in our actual thunderbird. Pleeeaaaase.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Oh, please, you must update this! This is one of the simplest, loveliest add-ons I've found - not to mention the only one of its kind on Mozilla's entire site. I love it so much. I miss it! :D

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Dekuji! :[email protected] and other fans to make compatible with TB 3.1...etc:change the text in "install rdf" from: em:maxVersion="3.0a1" to for example: em:maxVersion="3.2a1" and it works just fine! ;)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

@ash2020 of June 29, 2010. Thank you tons!
Do see his instructions on how to update Sun Cult DIY way for Win XP. It's easy and it works!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

great lil' program add-on... too bad it hasn't been updated for TBird 3.1.1.. used it all the time...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

using it with TBird for a while now.. neat add-on... use it all the time

for those trying to use it with FF3.6 just download it into TBird 3.0.5 ..the lastest version.. w*rks the same

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

using it with TBird for a while now.. neat add-on... use it all the time

for those trying to use it with FF3.6 just download it into TBird 3.0.5 ..the lastest version.. w*rks the same

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Please add my vote for a 3.6 version. It's a great and simple program. And I really would like to get my 3.6 version of the browser up and running some one of these days... I've been holding off on upgrading thinking maybe soon the new version of this would be up and then I would put everything together at once. I hope that will be soon. I'll give it four stars for it's own merit, though.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

could someone else with programming skills just please download the files and make it compatible with 3.6 ... it surely does not seem like they will make an update. Buu.. it was such a great add-on

(previously rated 5, now rated 1 as it is very disappointing it has no 3.6 compatibility yet)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love this addon, and really want for an upgrade to be made. There just isn't anything else like it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

looking forward to a revision for Firefox 3.6....much appreciated extension...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I really miss this and cannot find anything else similar please, if you can, I would be really grateful if you would update this for Firefox 3.6. Thank you in hopeful anticipation.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.200902).